Key Takeaways
- Cushman & Wakefield counts 1,789 MW of operational capacity and 3,860 MW of upcoming supply to 2030 (H1 2026). The pipeline is 2.2x the live stock, and only 509 MW of it is under construction.
- Maharashtra leads by a wide margin: Mumbai (890 MW) plus Pune (133 MW) gives a 1,023 MW proxy, 57.2% of the national total. It also holds 51.4% of the pipeline.
- Telangana has the steepest build-out ahead of it: 710 MW of pipeline against 151 MW live in Hyderabad, or 4.7x. Karnataka is the reverse, at 0.6x.
- No official state-wise census exists in the sources reviewed. Delhi NCR (183 MW) spans three jurisdictions and is not assigned to a state, and 34 MW of the national headline sits in no named market.
- Providers disagree on the national total (C&W 1,789 MW, CBRE about 1,750 MW, JLL 1,600 MW), and gigawatt-scale AI campuses in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana are announcements, not live capacity or additions to the pipeline.
NextMSC assessment
Capacity is concentrated in Maharashtra today, but the pipeline is more evenly spread, with Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Delhi NCR together holding more than a third of upcoming supply. Whether it converts to live IT load depends on power, water and approvals, so announced megawatts should be read as intent. This is an analytical reading of reported figures, not a reported outcome.
Market Snapshot: Where India Stands in 2026
India’s data centre infrastructure market is in a new build-out cycle driven by cloud adoption, enterprise digitisation and AI workloads. The latest comparable city-by-city dataset is Cushman & Wakefield’s H1 2026 update, published 23 September 2026. It reports 1,789 MW of operational IT capacity, 178 MW added in the half-year and 3,860 MW of upcoming supply through 2030, across 147 data centres and 33 providers.
The upcoming supply splits into 509 MW under construction (13.2%) and 3,351 MW at the planning stage (86.8%). Planning-stage capacity has no committed build schedule, so the near-term supply picture is far smaller than the headline pipeline.
Other providers measure the market differently. CBRE reports about 1.75 GW operational at end-H1 2026 and about 130 MW added, while JLL reports a 1.6 GW mid-year snapshot and 85 MW delivered. These are separate estimates with their own scopes, so this article shows them side by side and does not average them.
MW. Each bar is a separate provider estimate with its own scope; the bars are not averaged or added.
- Operational capacity, H1 2026
Underlying data: Cushman & Wakefield H1 2026 update, CBRE H1 2026 report, JLL 2026 mid-year report. Scopes differ, so differences reflect definitions as well as market size.
Source: http://nextmsc.com/industry-deep-dive/data-centre-capacity-by-indian-state
Status labels used in this article: reported (a published figure for a stated period), pipeline (planned or under construction, not live), announced (company or government statement), forecast (a provider outlook) and NextMSC calculation (marked *).
State Rankings: Operational Capacity and Pipeline
India does not publish a directly comparable state-by-state operational IT-load census, so the sources report city markets. Mapping those markets to states gives a transparent proxy: Mumbai and Pune to Maharashtra, Chennai to Tamil Nadu, Bengaluru to Karnataka, Hyderabad to Telangana and Kolkata to West Bengal. Delhi NCR is kept as a separate multi-state row.
| Rank | State / region | Mapping basis | Operational (MW) | Share of national | Pipeline (MW) | Share of pipeline | Pipeline ÷ operational* |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Maharashtra | Mumbai + Pune | 1,023 | 57.2% | 1,984 | 51.4% | 1.9x |
| 2 | Tamil Nadu | Chennai | 214 | 12.0% | 368 | 9.5% | 1.7x |
| 3 | Karnataka | Bengaluru | 162 | 9.1% | 100 | 2.6% | 0.6x |
| 4 | Telangana | Hyderabad | 151 | 8.4% | 710 | 18.4% | 4.7x |
| 5 | West Bengal | Kolkata | 22 | 1.2% | 84 | 2.2% | 3.8x |
| – | Delhi NCR (multi-state) | Delhi + Haryana + Uttar Pradesh cluster | 183 | 10.2% | 387 | 10.0% | 2.1x |
| – | Other / unallocated | National headline less named markets | 34 | 1.9% | 227 | 5.9% | – |
| National total | C&W H1 2026 headline | 1,789 | 100.0% | 3,860 | 100.0% | 2.2x |
* Pipeline ÷ operational is a NextMSC calculation from the reported figures. State rows are proxies built from city-market figures and are not an official state inventory. Source data: Cushman & Wakefield H1 2026. Delhi NCR is shown but not ranked because its capacity cannot be assigned to one state.
Maharashtra holds more than half of live capacity
Maharashtra’s proxy of 1,023 MW is nearly five times Tamil Nadu’s 214 MW. Mumbai alone accounts for 890 MW, or 49.7% of the national figure. CBRE’s end-September 2025 benchmark gave Mumbai a 53% share of a 1,530 MW market, and its H1 2026 report gives 52%, so concentration has eased only marginally on that provider’s basis.
The second tier is tightly packed
Tamil Nadu (214 MW), Karnataka (162 MW) and Telangana (151 MW) sit within about 65 MW of each other, and Delhi NCR (183 MW) falls inside the same band. Their pipelines diverge sharply, which is where the ranking is likely to change.
MW, Cushman & Wakefield H1 2026. Bars = operational capacity (left axis); line = upcoming supply through 2030 (right axis). Both axes use the same 0–2,000 MW scale.
- Operational (MW)
- Upcoming supply pipeline (MW)
Seven named markets shown; a 34 MW operational and 227 MW pipeline residual to the national headline is not shown. The line joins markets for comparison only and is not a time series. Delhi NCR spans Delhi, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.
Source: http://nextmsc.com/industry-deep-dive/data-centre-capacity-by-indian-state
Pipeline reshapes the order
On upcoming supply, Maharashtra still leads with 1,984 MW, but Telangana moves to second place with 710 MW, ahead of Delhi NCR (387 MW) and Tamil Nadu (368 MW). Karnataka’s 100 MW pipeline is smaller than its 162 MW live base, and West Bengal’s 84 MW is small in absolute terms but nearly four times its 22 MW current stock.
Beyond the Established Hubs: Project Signals
The announced project map now reaches past the Mumbai–Chennai corridor. Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh all feature in the AI-optimised data centre infrastructure plans of hyperscalers and large Indian groups. Most of these are future supply: a groundbreaking, MoU or expected go-live does not prove commissioned IT load.
| State / region | Project | Capacity as disclosed | Investment as disclosed | Status at 9 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | Google, AdaniConneX and Airtel: Visakhapatnam AI hub | Gigawatt-scale; exact IT-load MW not stated | USD 15 billion (2026–2030) | Under construction |
| Andhra Pradesh | Reliance Industries / Jio: AI data centre proposal (Reuters, Nov 2025) | 1,000 MW (1 GW) reported | Not disclosed | Announced |
| Telangana | TCS HyperVault and partners: Hyderabad AI campus (Sep 2026) | Up to 1,000 MW | Up to ₹70,000 crore | Announced |
| Telangana | UPC Renewables and Volt Data Centers: Bharat Future City (Jan 2026) | 100 MW data centre; separate 100 MW renewable plant | ₹5,000 crore | MoU |
| Telangana | Amazon Web Services: Hyderabad Region expansion | Local MW not disclosed | More than USD 21 billion India cloud plan, 2026–2030 (not Telangana-only) | Expansion under way |
| Telangana | Microsoft: India South Central cloud region (Aug 2026) | Facility MW not disclosed | Not disclosed | Region live |
| Maharashtra | Amazon Web Services: Mumbai Region investment plan (Jan 2025) | MW not disclosed | USD 8.3 billion by 2030 | Investment plan |
| Maharashtra | Trentar (Dorf Ketal group): green hyperscale park (Oct 2026) | 500 MW proposed | ₹30,000 crore | Proposal |
| Maharashtra | CtrlS Datacenters: Mumbai DC6/DC7 | 95 MW listed as upcoming by the operator | Not disclosed | Operator-listed |
| Uttar Pradesh / NCR | Yotta and NVIDIA: Greater Noida D2 (Feb 2026) | 60 MW, scalable to 250 MW | More than USD 2 billion (GPU deployment) | Go-live unconfirmed |
| Gujarat | Reliance and Meta: Jamnagar AI-enabled data centre (Jun 2026) | Capacity not disclosed | Not disclosed | Partnership |
| Tamil Nadu | CtrlS Datacenters: Chennai Data Centre Park | 72 MW IT load reported by operator | Not disclosed | Operator-listed |
Selected source-backed projects only, not a complete census. Capacity, investment and status are as disclosed by each source, and some projects may already sit inside consultant pipeline estimates, so the MW and investment values must not be added together or to the national pipeline. Source data: company and government announcements listed in the NextMSC Source & Reference Sheet.
Two cautions apply. Google’s Visakhapatnam campus is described as gigawatt-scale, but the primary announcement gives no exact IT-load figure. Yotta’s Greater Noida facility was expected to go live by August 2026, and the release reviewed does not independently confirm commissioning.
Policy and Siting: What Shapes Where Capacity Goes
State incentives are now part of the siting decision. Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh have each listed new 2026 data-centre policies, Telangana is marketing dedicated clusters, and the Union Budget 2026–27 proposed a tax holiday to 2047 for eligible foreign cloud companies using India-based data-centre services.
| Jurisdiction | Policy / development | Date or period | Status / caution |
|---|---|---|---|
| India (Union) | Union Budget 2026–27: proposed tax holiday to 2047 for eligible foreign cloud companies | 1 Feb 2026 | Budget proposal; verify enacted provisions and eligibility |
| Gujarat | Viksit Gujarat Data Center Policy 2026–29 | Listed 7 Aug 2026 | Summary page only; incentive clauses need the policy document |
| Uttar Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh Data Centre Policy 2026 | Published 9 Jul 2026; updated 14 Aug 2026 | Land, stamp-duty and electricity-duty incentives depend on eligibility conditions |
| Telangana | State data-centre programme and clusters (Chandanvelly, Bharat Future City) | Portal accessed 9 Oct 2026 | Portal figures differ in scope from the C&W Hyderabad figure |
| Tamil Nadu | Tamil Nadu Data Centre Policy 2021 | Stated validity to 31 Mar 2026 | Validity date has passed; successor or extension not confirmed |
| Odisha | Odisha State Data Centre Policy 2022 | Page still listed; original goal horizon 2025 | Check sunset clauses and later notifications |
Policy pages and budget announcements are not substitutes for the full legal notification, eligibility clauses and sunset provisions. Source data: Government of India, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Odisha policy pages.
Tamil Nadu is the clearest caution. Its official 2021 policy page states validity through 31 March 2026, so the current incentive regime needs confirming before any claim that it is active. Reuters reported on 9 October 2026 that residents are pushing back on proposed or expanding sites near Mumbai and in Andhra Pradesh over land, power, water and noise, a reminder that social licence affects timelines alongside capital.
Demand Signals: Absorption, Pre-Commitment and Investment
JLL reports H1 2026 net absorption of 101 MW, more than 20% above its three-year average, with 82% of it pre-committed by hyperscalers. That points to strong committed demand but a concentrated customer base. JLL also reported that Mumbai accounted for 48% and Chennai for 50% of the 85 MW delivered in the half-year.
On investment, CBRE counts USD 38 billion of commitments announced in H1 2026 and USD 173 billion since 2021. JLL’s outlook is that capacity could reach 6 GW by 2029, tripling from 1.6 GW, with USD 110 billion of investment needed. Commitments and outlooks are not capacity, and the two providers’ figures are not comparable.
AI demand also reaches upstream hardware markets. Our deep dive on AI memory shortage 2026 and PC prices covers how server allocation affects component supply.
Capacity and Demand Dataset
Every provider-reported capacity, supply, demand and investment record used in this article, with its period, type and source ID. Records from different providers are separate estimates and are not additive.
Filter the capacity, supply, demand and investment records compiled for this article, then export the full dataset as CSV. Every record is labeled as current, historical, forecast or investment.
| Publisher | Indicator | Value | Period | Type | Source ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cushman & Wakefield | National operational capacity | 1,789 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S01 |
| Cushman & Wakefield | New capacity added in H1 | 178 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S01 |
| Cushman & Wakefield | Under construction | 509 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S01 |
| Cushman & Wakefield | Planning stage | 3,351 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S01 |
| Cushman & Wakefield | Total upcoming supply | 3,860 MW | Through 2030 (C&W pipeline) | Current | S01 |
| Cushman & Wakefield | Number of data centres / providers | 147 / 33 centres / providers | H1 2026 | Current | S01 |
| CBRE | National operational capacity | ~1750 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S02 |
| CBRE | New capacity added in H1 | 130 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S02 |
| CBRE | Announced in H1 2026 | 38 USD billion | H1 2026 | Investment | S02 |
| CBRE | Cumulative since 2021 | 173 USD billion | 2021–H1 2026 | Investment | S02 |
| JLL | National market snapshot | 1,600 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S03 |
| JLL | Absorption | 101 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S03 |
| JLL | Capacity delivered | 85 MW | H1 2026 | Current | S03 |
| JLL | Share of absorption pre-committed by hyperscalers | 82 % | H1 2026 | Current | S03 |
| JLL | Potential national capacity | 6,000 MW | By 2029 (JLL outlook) | Forecast | S03 |
| JLL | Investment needed | 110 USD billion | By 2029 (JLL outlook) | Forecast | S03 |
| CBRE | National operational market | 1,530 MW | End-Sep 2025 | Historical | S04 |
| CBRE | New capacity added | 260 MW | Jan-Sep 2025 | Historical | S04 |
| JLL | Cloud service providers’ share of user demand | 54 % | End-2024 / reported Apr 2025 | Historical | S29 |
| JLL | Net absorption | 186 MW | 2024 | Historical | S29 |
Source IDs map to publishers in the NextMSC Source & Reference Sheet. “Current” means a reported H1 2026 figure; “Historical” means an earlier period; “Forecast” is a provider outlook.
Methodology, Definitions and Data Limits
Data cut-off: 9 October 2026. Refresh: semi-annually, after the next Cushman & Wakefield, CBRE and JLL half-year releases, and sooner if a major project or policy changes status.
Capacity definition: operational capacity means MW of IT load as specified by each source. It is not gross building power, grid connection capacity, GPU count, investment value or ultimate campus scale.
State mapping: state figures are sums of Cushman & Wakefield city-market figures. The seven named markets total 1,755 MW operational and 3,633 MW of pipeline, against national headlines of 1,789 MW and 3,860 MW. The 34 MW and 227 MW differences are shown as unallocated residuals, not assigned to any state.
Provider scope: Cushman & Wakefield, CBRE and JLL use different market coverage, so totals, additions and absorption are never averaged or combined. The Telangana government portal’s roughly 200 MW live and 4.7 GW committed or early-stage figures are likewise kept apart from the C&W Hyderabad figure of 151 MW.
Blank states: the reviewed market update does not report capacity for other states and union territories. A blank means no comparable figure was disclosed, not zero facilities. Operator-listed facilities, such as CtrlS sites, are examples and not state totals.
Last updated 10 October 2026. Next refresh after the next half-year releases from Cushman & Wakefield, CBRE and JLL. Corrections and source challenges: Contact NMSC Research.